Jesus an Avatar?

It has taken several days to get this set up this far. A bit frustrating, but it’s learn as you go. Christmas music playing behind me regardless of where I was sitting with my laptop, determined to make one more dent in getting this blog site ready to launch. I was fair and rotated between the various free wi-fi spots in my neighborhood (Panera Bread, McDonald’s, Starbucks, and Caribou Coffee). It was in Panera Bread that I met a young couple as we shared table space and free wi-fi. I surmised they were not married but had a serious relationship, after all she was filling out a new passport application for him (he had lost his original passport). As we exchanged small talk he told me he worked as a consultant for the federal government, she seemed to hang on his every word – love was definitely in the air. I joked a bit and asked her if this was the year he was going to pop the big question (marriage). She nervously laughed and quickly changed the topic to movies they had seen recently. Having just seen the movie Avatar (be sure to go see the 3D version) I asked them if they saw any spiritual value in the movie. They were a bit amused and he even stated that this seemed an unusual question. I explained that when I saw the movie I couldn’t help but think about what an avatar is and how it lives; having an ability to live a life and dreams through another image. Isn’t that what followers of Jesus do when we live and trust IN Jesus? What a liberating thought – freedom and endless opportunities. Seems like the perfect take on Christmas. I’m not suggesting that Jesus is an avatar – let’s just not go there! I am suggesting that to know God is to “see” God (if you’ve seen the movie you’ll understand what “I see you” means). The couple listened closely as I briefly and in a non threatening way explained the true meaning of Christmas (Jesus). They had to leave but I made sure they had my contact information and uttered a silent prayer that our discussion would nudge them to test their faith and how their faith makes a huge difference in their lives and the lives of others.

As I write this it has dawned on me how critical it is that we make sure what we say (even as we blog or twitter) has value. Jeremiah 15 (Msg) states “Use words truly and well. Don’t stoop to cheap whining. Then and only then, you’ll speak for me. Let your words change them. Don’t change your words to suit them. I’ll turn you into a steel wall.”

Leave a Comment

