Back to School

This morning my daughter sent me a picture of my grandson as he stood outside his front door, backpack in place.  He was headed for his first school bus ride and his first full day of school.  You could tell he was ready but maybe a little apprehensive. 

I wonder, did my mom cry on my first day of school?  Did I want to go or did I dread every moment?  I sure remember both good and bad times at school but I don’t remember my first day of school.   

While my daughter enjoys many Kodak moments with her son and plans for their future, I’m enjoying the future that I helped create.  The moment I became a dad, my world changed and my future was solidified.  I thought often about her future and shared many of the same moments with her that she now shares with her sons.  The future that I hoped for has become the present. 

I don’t think it can get any better than this!

Leave a Comment

